Abbeytown Annual Road Race 2007













The winners receiving their prizes from Fiona Holliday and Tony Cunningham







The 22nd Annual Abbeytown Road Race was held on Sunday 3rd June at 13:30. Weather was overcast with just a spot of rain but very warm for the runners,. There were 95 runners in all, with an excellent turn out of young runners for the 2 mile race.

The races were started by Tony Cunningham
MP at Swinsty Farm, where the competitors ran towards Southerfield having en-route sponges and water supplied at Special hat 'Abbeytow At the Holliday the Holliday the Sponsors a supplying of excellent to Cunningham

up to six places by local volunteers.

The finish was at

the football field where the time-keepers and committee were waiting. The competitors on arrival were booked in, given their time, a ticket for tea in the village hall, and for all runners a special hat with the logo 'Abbeytown Road Race'.

At the hall Fiona Holliday thanked the Sponsors and WI for supplying once more an excellent tea. Mr Tony Cunningham MP was introduced and during his speech said how much he and his small son had enjoyed the afternoon (his son having done a little marathon on his own in the field).

Mr Cunningham then proceeded to hand out to the winners their prizes.

Results: 10 mile: 1st Gareth Wood 57.42 2nd Paul Curtis 59.33 3rd Dave Troman 60.31 Male Veteran: 1st Duncan Frampton 61.06 Female Veteran: 1st Sheila Rae 75.14 Female: 1st Catherine Scott 70.15 5 Mile boy 16 &under: 1st Carlisle King 37 mins. 2nd Jonathan Clark 40.13 3rd Fergus Ledingham 42.58 Girls 16 & Under: 1st Abbey Foy 48.17 2 Mile boy 11 & Under: 1st Shaun Clark 16.50 2nd Seth McGeoghegain 21.34 3rd David Williamson 22.16

Girls 11 & Under:

1st Emily Harrison 19 mins. 2nd Rachel Harrison 19.57 3rd Alix Lancaster 21.34











The indispensable tea ladies were very appreciated